February Challenges

I just got home today from Toronto.  I drove there on Monday to complete some “zoo training” which is a requirement for deploying.  In a nutshell, it is learning how to safely handle venomous snakes and other creepy crawlies.  I had a lot of fun, very interesting stuff, for sure.

So, it’s February!  I officially start with our budgeting and other measures to help save a buck.  Actually, any pennies saved are going directly onto our line of credit so the better I do at being “frugal” the quicker that sucker gets paid off!  Here are some of my goals for this month:

1.  Start Budgeting

I know that this stuff doesn’t happen overnight, at least not for me.  I plan on getting my numbers on paper, setting ourselves up on the jar system and going from there.  It won’t be perfect but over the next few weeks we should be able to work out the kinks.  In the meanwhile, will be tracking purchases and still try to make better choices when it comes to spending.  Fingers crossed!

Note:  today was a no-spend day, hopefully I can do several of those.  I know my willpower suffers greatly once I walk into a store….

2.  Money savers

Where can I make changes that will save us money?  I already called Cogeco today to see if we could get a promotion since our phone/internet/tv is all with them.  I dropped a couple of services and with their promotions we will be saving about $80 a month.  I am also going to try and negotiate a better interest rate on our line of credit and will look into PC Financial line of credits, often you can get zero interest (or close) with balance transfers.  I know there other cost saving measures, and I will be considering all of them this month.

3.  Decluttering challenge

 I really wanted to start on our “utility” room but I know I should really organize all our bills and get our paperwork in order.  Because Carla’s first challenge is “personal space” I am going to work on the  paperwork.   I won’t take any before/after pictures because really it is just about filing everything and tossing out stuff that is no longer needed.  If all goes well, I may move on to organizing my external hard drives.  I have tons of pictures in hundreds of folders, it requires serious attention……

4.  Random Acts of Kindness

Carla is once again challenging us to give back and be better people.  Her challenge this week is to donate food to the food bank.  I already had a bag of non-perishables in the van ready to go but I did go into the pantry and grabbed a can of beets that I *knew* we wouldn’t eat.  So tomorrow I will be dropping the goodies off at our local independent grocer.  As for the item today that I had to toss, donate or give away:  I was preparing my nieces birthday parcel and tossed in a Halloween costume that the kids have outgrown.  That counts, right?

5.  Menu Planning

I am always flying by the seat of my pants and exhausted every evening.  I would like to start a recipe binder with out favourite “tried and true” recipes.  To add to that, I think that by planning menus you can better organize leftovers, make better choices when grocery shopping, and use time more efficiently.  Hopefully by the end of the month I will have recipes in the binder and some meal plans in place.

Hoping to be able to post more often.  Goodnight,

Heidi

3 Responses to February Challenges

  1. JoannaTopazT says:

    (Dropping by from Carla’s links.) I need to start budgeting this month, too. I do some other financial good stuff, just not actual making a budget. We saved the most money last year by changing our insurance (auto and homeowner’s) by using one of Dave Ramsey’s recommended insurance brokers. Will end up saving us over $2,000/year. And yes, menu planning is awesome! It saves you both time and money!

  2. Carla says:

    Hey, it’s great to “see” you again! Look at your tat! You ave lots of it done now! Do you have more pics of it? Ed wants to see too… Did you see his newest one on my blog?

    Your goals are great! Saving $80/month is pretty awesome! Where are you going to put that $$ instead? I don’t envy you for having to go through lads of paperwork! lol! I’m doing my closet today.. Good times! 😉

Leave a Reply

